During the peak of stress season (aka exams) I needed to find something to do to unwind a bit. I had tried coloring, drawing, writing, but none of those seemed to work when I got to the state of uber stress (as one does when they are writing their finals).

Anyways, to make a long story short. I was browsing Instagram way past a godly time to be awake, and I kept seeing these really cheeky cross stitch. I changed my social media choice over to We Heart It and found more. Finally, I closed my eyes with the resolution to take up this new hobby of cross stitching.

How I started:

The nice thing about cross stitching is that if you don’t want to make your own pattern, YOU DONT HAVE TO! There are 100s online, and better yet you can buy kits that come with the thread, needle, hoop, and aida fabric. However, it can be just as easy to create your own.

If, like me, you choose the path to make your own, you will need:

  1. Embroidery needle (it has a large opening for thicker threads)
  2. Embroidery thread (I bought a pack of assorted colors)
  3. Embroidery Hoop (big enough to frame whatever art work you want to do)
  4. Aida Fabric

Since I wasn’t 100% on making my own pattern I decided to copy a photo from the internet (see below). Since it was just words, I just googled cross stitch letters patterns, and went to google images.

il_570xN.961458432_c1q8.jpg
Image from: plasticlittlecovers on Etsy.com

The actual stitch used in cross stitch is really basic, below is a tutorial of how to do the classic stitch;

 

And here is my final creation:

IMG_2787

Feeling confident I could make my own simple pattern I used grid paper to mimic the pattern of the Aida fabric and drafted my idea. The final product is below:

IMG_2790IMG_2792IMG_2793

I have a few Ideas for my next cross stitch, such as an avocado with the words Avocado ph[f]at. But for fright now I am working on a simple embroidered pillow!

Happy cross stitching

-Therese

